Stations of the Cross

​Our amazing Arts teacher has created these hand-painted plaques to represent Stations of the Cross. These have been installed around the school for our students to visit during reflection times. We have added the images below and the meanings of each.

​The artwork below and the version we teach is based on the scriptural form of the Way of the Cross. Due to the original version having only eight clear scriptural foundations, Pope John Paul II introduced a new form of devotion, called the Scriptural Way of the Cross, on Good Friday 1991 which aligns closely with biblical accounts.*


First Station:

​Jesus prays in the Garden of Gethsemane.​
Station 1 artwork.jpeg

Second Station:

​Jesus is betrayed by Judas and arrested​​.
Station 2 artwork.jpeg

Third Station:

​Jesus is condemned by the Sanhedrin.​​
Station 3 artwork.jpeg

Fourth Station:

​Jesus is denied by Peter 3 times.
Station 4 artwork.jpeg

Fifth Station:

Jesus is judged by Pilate​.
Station 5 artwork.jpeg

Sixth Station:

​Jesus is scourged and crowned with thorns.
Station 6 artwork.jpeg

Seventh Station:

​Jesus takes up his cross​.
Station 7 artwork.jpeg

Eighth Station:

​Jesus is helped by Simon of Cyrene to carry his cross.
Station 8 artwork.jpeg

Ninth Station:

​Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem.
Station 9 artwork.jpeg

Tenth Station:

​Jesus is crucified.
Station 10 artwork.jpeg

Eleventh Station:

​Jesus promises his kingdom to the repentant thief.
Station 11 artwork.jpeg

Twelfth Station:

​Jesus entrusts Mary and John to each other.​​
Station 12 artwork.jpeg

Thirteenth Station:

​Jesus dies on the cross.
Station 13 artwork.jpeg

Fourteenth Station:

​Jesus is laid in the tomb.
Station 14 artwork.jpeg

© Brisbane Catholic Education, Mother Teresa Primary School (2023)​